It was the AMG Mercedes 190 E2.5 16 Evolution II which gave Mercedes-AMG the first title in the DTM in 1992, with “Mister DTM” Klaus Ludwig behind the wheel. In a time before anti-lock brakes, Ludwig clinched the championship with his race intelligence and experience ahead of his two Mercedes teammates Kurt Thiim and Bernd Schneider, against the strong opposition of BMW and Audi.

Purchase here at the Raceroom store


The next car was the AMG-Mercedes C-Klasse DTM, a car that was truly ahead of its time, using more advanced technology than it was common in Formula One at the time. There were strong opponents with the four-wheel-driven Alfa Romeos and Opels, but the rear-wheel-driven C-Klasse was more than a match for it. Ludwig secured another title in 1994, before the time of Bernd Schneider began, who claimed both the DTM and ITC drivers championship in 1995 in his silver car with the neon yellow mirrors.

Purchase here from the Raceroom store


The ITC was short-lived, but the DTM returned in 2000 and of course, Mercedes-AMG Motorsport was present with the AMG-Mercedes CLK DTM. Bernd Schneider was in the form of his life, winning three championships in 2000, 2001 and 2003, and even though the ruleset restricted the cars more than in past years, the battles were even more spectacular, especially between AMG and the yellow ABT Audis.

Purchase here from the Raceroom store


In 2004, the DTM returned to its roots with 4-door limousines, and Mercedes-AMG Motorsport prepared the next generation of the AMG-Mercedes C-Klasse DTM. Bernd Schneider scored his last title in 2006, but the next generation was already in the starting blocks, with British drivers Gary Paffett and Paul di Resta winning the championship in 2005 and 2010 respectively.

Purchase here from the Raceroom store


In 2012, we truly arrived in the modern era of DTM. With the Mercedes-AMG C 63 DTM, AMG prepared a strong challenger against the Audis and BMWs. In 2015, youngster Pascal Wehrlein, who was born in 1994, two years after Mercedes-AMG’s first DTM title, won the championship

Purchase here from the Raceroom store


Gary Paffett won his second Drivers’ Championship while 2017 DTM champion René Rast finished second in the championship.
The 2018 Deutsche Tourenwagen Masters is the 19th season of the Deutsche Tourenwagen Masters, since the series’ resumption in 2000. 2018 is the final season for the current 4.0 litre V8 naturally-aspirated engine package that debuted in the inaugural reborn season; as the brand new engine package has been introduced for the following season as part of the Class One prospect with Japanese Super GT GT500 cars. 2018 also marks the final season for Mercedes-AMG in DTM due to Mercedes-AMG switching focus to FIA Formula E from 2019-20 season and thus ending its 19 year participation.

Gary Paffett won his second title at the final round of the season with a third place finish, beating previous champion René Rast by four points despite a late charge to six consecutive wins by Rast, a new series record. Paffett became the second non-German driver to won more than one DTM driver titles and thus repeating Swedish Mattias Ekström’s feat in 2004 and 2007 seasons.